Directory
AI video generator directory: hosted, open and avatar tools
A neutral list of AI video generators: hosted tools, open-weight models and avatar video, with official links and the free options each vendor states.
- 23 tools
- A to Z, not a ranking
- Last updated:
Our picks
The short ranked list from our best-of page. The complete list is below.
This is a reference list, not a ranking. It covers hosted video generators, models you can download and run yourself, and avatar video tools. Inside each group the entries run alphabetically.
Every entry carries only what the vendor's own site or repository states. Where a page said nothing, the field is blank. We have not tested every tool here. For the tools we have tested and ranked, use the picks page.
Showing 23 of 23
Hosted video generators
These run on the vendor's servers. You pay with a subscription or credits and need no GPU of your own.
Adobe's own Firefly Video Model, which Adobe says is trained on licensed content such as Adobe Stock and public domain material. The same page lists partner models: Google Veo 3.1, Luma Ray3, Kling 3.0 and Runway Gen-4.5. Adobe says most models give clips up to 8 seconds (some up to 15) and downloads go up to 4K. Adobe notes that commercial eligibility depends on the model you pick.
Free or trialDetails →Dreamina
In our picks, #5
ByteDance's creative site and the home of the Seedance video models. Its video list names Seedance 2.5, which the page says generates up to 30 seconds, plus Seedance 2.0 and partner models Sora 2 and Veo 3.1. Image models include Seedream 5.0 Pro and Lite. There are also avatar tools.
Free or trialDetails →xAI's image and video generator, built into Grok. The input image is the first frame of the clip.
Details →Hailuo AI
In our picks, #2
MiniMax's video site, which now shows MiniMax H3 as its current model. It offers credits for completing a survey and subscription plans, and it does not state how many free credits you get.
Details →A multi-model platform rather than a single model. Its site lists its own Cinema Studio 4.0 alongside Seedance 2.5, and it connects to ChatGPT and Claude through an extension.
Free or trialDetails →Kling AI
In our picks, #1
The site lists Kling 4.0 and Video 3.0, and describes Kling 4.0 as an audio-visual model. It also offers Motion Control and ships desktop apps for macOS and Windows.
Details →Luma's current product is Luma Agents, which runs its own Ray3.2 model and partner models including Veo 3.1, Kling 3.0 and Seedance 2.0, and also handles image, audio and text tasks. Individual plans are Plus at $30 a month (10,000 credits), Pro at $90 (40,000) and Ultra at $300 (150,000), with lower prices when billed yearly. Credits reset each billing cycle.
Free or trialDetails →Moonvalley's Marey model, which the company describes as trained on licensed data. It adds camera control from a single image, motion transfer from a reference video and trajectory control from drawn paths.
Details →Audio-reactive music videos: you upload a track and the site says it analyzes eight stems to drive the visuals. You can pick from several video models (it lists Kling, Seedance, Runway and Stable Diffusion) or train a custom model on your own images for character consistency. It also lists lipsync and 4K upscaling. The company says it is bootstrapped and based in Berlin.
Free or trialDetails →Pika
In our picks, #4
Now a multi-model creative platform. The site lists Pika 2.5, Seedance 2.5, MiniMax H3 and Wan 3.0 for video, plus image and audio models and tools such as Extend Video and Character Studio.
Details →Lists its own PixVerse V6, which it says outputs 1080p with native audio, and R2, described as a real-time world model, next to partner models such as Seedance 2.5 and MiniMax H3. Also lists lip sync, character consistency and a command-line tool.
Details →Runway
In our picks, #6
The pricing page lists Gen-4.5 and Aleph 2.0 as Runway's own models, alongside partner models such as Kling 3.0 and Seedance 2.5. Paid plans are $12 (Standard), $28 (Pro) and $76 (Max) a month on annual billing, or $15, $35 and $95 billed monthly. Credits are monthly (625, 2,250 and 9,500). The API is sold separately with its own pricing.
Free or trialDetails →OpenAI's deprecations page lists the Sora 2 models and the Videos API as deprecated on March 24, 2026, with the API ending on September 24, 2026 and no recommended replacement. The web and mobile apps shut down on April 26, 2026. It stays listed so a search for it lands somewhere useful.
Details →Google's video model, shown on its page as Veo 3.1. Google says it generates sound effects, ambient noise and dialogue natively with the video. The page cites 1080p and 4K output and lists 8 seconds as the standard clip length.
Details →Lists Vidu Q3, which it says generates audio with the video, and Vidu Stream, a real-time interactive model. The site cites up to 1080p, 16-second audio-visual generation, and a My References tool for keeping a character consistent. It also offers an off-peak mode aimed at cheaper experiments.
Free or trialDetails →
Open-weight models you can run yourself
You download the files and run them on your own GPU. The memory figures below are the ones each repository states.
A video model with over 13 billion parameters. The repository lists a minimum of 45 GB of GPU memory for 544x960 clips and 60 GB for 720x1280, both at 129 frames, and recommends 80 GB. FP8 weights are available to cut memory use. A separate image-to-video model, HunyuanVideo-I2V, is linked from the same page. The license excludes the EU, UK and South Korea.
Details →Open weights in 2B and 13B sizes, with distilled and FP8 versions of each. Supports keyframe conditioning and video extension. Weights are on Hugging Face. The README now says development has moved to LTX-2, which it describes as generating synchronized audio and video, and points to a separate repository for it.
Details →An open-source text-to-video model with 10 billion parameters in the diffusion model. The model card lists 480p output and clips of up to 84 frames at 30 fps, about 2.8 seconds, and calls the checkpoint a research preview. Weights are on Hugging Face and code on GitHub. Genmo also runs a hosted playground, and the model works in ComfyUI.
Details →An image-to-video model: it animates a single still. The XT model produces 25 frames at 576x1024, roughly four seconds or less. The card lists limits: no text control, weak text rendering and difficulty with realistic faces. The license allows commercial use below USD 1 million in annual revenue; above that, a separate license from Stability is needed.
Details →The Wan2.2 repository lists T2V-A14B, I2V-A14B, TI2V-5B, S2V-14B and Animate-14B. Stated single-GPU needs: at least 80 GB of VRAM for T2V-A14B and S2V-14B, and at least 24 GB for TI2V-5B, which fits an RTX 4090. Weights are on Hugging Face and ModelScope.
Details →
Avatar and presenter video
Talking-head tools. They animate a presenter reading a script rather than generating open-ended scenes.
Talking avatar videos from a script, a deck or a document. You can pick a ready-made avatar or upload a face image (JPEG or PNG, up to 10 MB). Standard output is up to 1280x1280, with 1080p on Pro and above, and clips run up to 5 minutes.
Free or trialDetails →Avatar and presenter video from text, images, audio, slide decks or a YouTube link for translation. The pricing page cites translation in 175+ languages on paid plans (30+ on Free) and lists voice cloning from the Creator plan.
Free or trialDetails →Avatars that present a script in 160+ languages and voices, per the pricing page. Dubbing covers 70+ languages on most plans and 140+ on Enterprise. Interactive avatars handle real-time conversations. Works from text, documents, links and PowerPoint files. API video creation needs the Pro plan or higher.
Free or trialDetails →
How this list works
Listed means present, not endorsed. The order is alphabetical, never a ranking.
Facts come from the vendor's own site, documentation or repository. A blank field means the page did not state it.
Prices, plans and model names change often. The checked date sits at the top of the list.
A tool that has shut down stays listed with its status, so you can see what happened to it.
Links to vendor sites are marked nofollow. See our disclosure for how we handle commercial relationships.
Missing a tool or spotted a mistake? Tell us.
Frequently asked questions
- What is the difference between a hosted video generator and an open-weight model?
- A hosted generator runs on the vendor's servers and you pay with a subscription or credits. An open-weight model gives you the files to run on your own GPU, so you pay in hardware and setup time instead. The open-weight entries on this page state the memory their repositories list.
- Which of these AI video tools have a free option?
- Several state one on their own pages: Adobe Firefly lists free daily generations, Dreamina lists free daily credits, Runway gives 125 one-time credits, Vidu gives free credits to all users, HeyGen has a free plan, Synthesia gives 500 credits a month and D-ID offers a free trial. Open-weight models are free to download, but their licenses differ.
- Is OpenAI's Sora still available?
- No. OpenAI's deprecations page lists the Sora 2 models and the Videos API as deprecated on March 24, 2026, with the API ending on September 24, 2026 and no recommended replacement. The web and mobile apps shut down on April 26, 2026.
- Can I run an AI video model on my own computer?
- Some of them, within limits. Wan2.2's TI2V-5B lists at least 24 GB of VRAM and its A14B models list at least 80 GB. HunyuanVideo lists a 45 GB minimum for 544x960 clips. LTX-Video publishes 2B and 13B sizes. Read each repository's requirements before you download anything.
- Why is a tool I know missing from the list?
- A tool is added once its details have been checked against an official page. Some well-known tools are not here yet because we could not confirm their details from an official source in this pass.
Get new guides by email
One email when we publish new guides and model breakdowns. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.
